I live here – Transition Vision

I live in a village with two bakeries, a brewery, a dairy co-op, flour mill, a butcher, soap maker, technology company and numerous other small businesses. I work at the Community, Enterprise and Social Centre.  We have a community farm out by the allotments. I pay a set price to the farm every week thenContinue reading “I live here – Transition Vision”

National Networks

National networks of activists Some of the following national bodies have branches involved with local climate action. Check out your local group. Communities for Future https://wiki.communitiesforfuture.org/wiki/Community-led_initiatives_in_Ireland Community Gardens Ireland http://cgireland.org IDEN, Irish Doughnut Economics Network https://wiki.irishdenetwork.org/Home Mens Sheds https://menssheds.ie Laudato Si’ Animators Ireland https://www.facebook.com/groups/393651241505729/ Join the Climate Ambassador programme https://climateambassador.ie Local environmental networks https://len.ie/lens/ Ecocongregation Ireland https://www.ecocongregationireland.com Public participation networks – find groupsContinue reading “National Networks”

Climate Action Groups by County

On August 8th 2021 the IPCC launched their 6th assessment report with a “code red” warning for humanity. The following lists* are of Climate Action groups throughout Ireland that you can contact if you want to get involved. There are also many national organisation that may have branches so it is worth checking out theContinue reading “Climate Action Groups by County”

Wicklow

Birdwatch Ireland Wicklow Branch https://www.facebook.com/birdwatchwicklow  Laragh/Glendalough Sustainable Energy Community https://www.facebook.com/LaraghGlendaloughSustainableEnergyAction/ Carraig DĂșlra Ltd https://www.dulra.org Glenmalure Rural Energy Group https://www.facebook.com/glenmalureruralenergygroup/ Tearmann Community Garden https://www.facebook.com/tearmannbaltinglass/ River Vartry Protection Society https://rivervartry.com Wicklow PPN  Green Greystones https://www.facebook.com/groups/261160671192799/

Wexford

Extinction Rebellion Wexford https://www.facebook.com/groups/2427746037237231/ Wexford Environmental Network https://www.facebook.com/WexfordEnvironmentalNetwork/ Future-Proof Wexford https://www.facebook.com/groups/futureproofwexford Rosslare Harbour/Kilrane Environment Group https://www.facebook.com/groups/345200599254/ Castlebridge Community Garden https://m.facebook.com/CCGarden/ Wexford PPN Zero Waste Wexford https://www.facebook.com/groups/1894249877455186/?ref=br_rs

Westmeath

Extinction Rebellion Westmeath https://www.facebook.com/xrathlone/ An Taisce Westmeath branch https://www.facebook.com/Antaiscewestmeath Birdwatch Ireland https://birdwatchireland.ie Westmeath Environmental and Climate Action Network (WECAN) https://www.facebook.com/groups/1997195507248417/ Westmeath PPN Irish Wildlife Trust Longford Westmeath https://www.facebook.com/LongfordWestmeath-Irish-Wildlife-Trust-Branch-217915548242691/ Meath/Westmeath Peatland Heritage Group https://www.facebook.com/MWMPeatlandProject/

Waterford

Extinction Rebellion Waterford https://www.facebook.com/XRWaterford Irish Wildlife Trust Waterford Branch https://www.facebook.com/Irish-Wildlife-Trust-Waterford-Branch-1575856262675239/ Sustainable Living Initiative Waterford https://sliwaterford.ie Tramore Allotments Association https://www.facebook.com/TramoreAllotments/ West Waterford Eco Group https://m.facebook.com/pages/category/Community-Organization/West-Waterford-Eco-Group-847492532253744/ Belle Lake Trust https://www.facebook.com/bellelaketrust/ Irish Bee Conservation Project https://www.ibcp.ie Tramore Eco Group https://www.facebook.com/TramoreEcoGroup/ Waterford PPN Tramore Transition Town https://www.facebook.com/TransitionTownTramore/

Tipperary

Sustainable projects Ireland Ltd. (Cloughjordan Ecovillage) http://www.thevillage.ie Energy Communities Tipperary Co-operative https://energycommunitiestipp.ie Cultivate Living and Learning http://cultivate.ie An Taisce https://www.antaisce.org Birdwatch Ireland Tipperary Branch https://tippbirds.weebly.com Ballyneale Suir Valley Environmental Group https://www.facebook.com/ballynealeparish/posts/suir-valley-environmental-group-public-meeting-kilurney-halltuesday-19th-may745p/868104789915264/ Drombane Upperchurch Energy Team https://m.facebook.com/DUEnergy/ Cabragh Community Allotments https://www.facebook.com/Cabragh-Community-Allotments-223593567781530/ Tipperary PPN Cabragh Wetlands Trust http://www.cabraghwetlands.ie/blog/ Zero Waste Cashel https://www.zerowastecashel.ie Domhan Glas https://www.facebook.com/Domhan-Glas-166620340686199/

Sligo

Sligo PPN Extinction Rebellion Sligo https://www.facebook.com/XRSLIGO/ Sligo Community Gardens https://www.facebook.com/Community-Gardens-Sligo-652135104888259/ An Taisce Northwest https://www.facebook.com/AnTaisceNorthWest/ Bird Watch Ireland Sligo Branch https://www.facebook.com/birdwatch.sligo Sligo Environmental Network https://m.facebook.com/sligoenvironmentalnetwork/ IT Sligo Green Campus https://www.itsligo.ie/sustainability/my-green-campus/ Moy River Catchment Trust https://moytrust.wordpress.com